Our Organization


The Arlington Academy of Hope is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization built on a unique partnership between the local Ugandan community and many everyday Americans. In the U.S., AAH is primarily volunteer driven with a Board of Directors, an Advisory Council, an Executive Director and a growing community of dedicated volunteers and caring supporters. In Uganda, our organization includes senior staff, teachers, school staff and clinic personnel.

AAH invites you to learn about What We Do and join this effort. Together we can reach many more Ugandan children in need of a good, all-around education and basic healthcare.

Board of Directors

Richard Burk, President;

Holly Hawthorne, Vice President;

Dean Scribner, Secretary;

George Molaski, Acting Treasurer;

John Wanda, Co-Founder and Immediate Past President;

Joyce Wanda, Co-Founder;

Heather Burneson;

Carole Burk;

Tracy Hanafin;

Cynthia Margeson;

Beatrice Tierney;

JoAnn Willis;

Maureen Dugan, Executive Director.



Advisory Council

Daniel Carucci, President, Global Health Consulting, Inc.;

Cynthia Dinkins, President and CEO, Northern Virginia Urban League;

James Hussey, Chairman and Founder, Chapman, Cubine Adams + Hussey

Charles Kahn, President and CEO, Federation of American Hospitals;

Dr. Matthew Shank, President of Marymount University

Senior Staff in Uganda

Thomas Kisolo Kitandwe, Program Director

Sarah Sabano, Headmaster

Marissa Swanson, Uganda Volunteer and Outreach Coordinator

Wasswa Patrick, Purchasing Officer

Godfrey Mutebi, Deputy Headmaster

Arlington Academy of Hope Teachers

Lusweswe Grace – P1 Nabafu Rebecca, P1 Teaching Assistant TBD – P2 Shibale Richard – P3/P4 Bulitya Moses – P4/P5 Nabutiti Jemima – P5 Kahukha Ronnie – P5/P6 Nambafu Edith – P5/P6 Okiira Micheal – P7 Matunya Kifa – P7 Kimono Aidah – Librarian

Comments are closed.